Social media:

The OCEAN2012 coalition was created in 2009 to support a fundamental reform of the European Union’s Common Fisheries Policy, or CFP. It was launched by The Pew Charitable Trusts, the Coalition for Fair Fisheries Arrangements, the Fisheries Secretariat, the new economics foundation and Seas At Risk, who were later joined on its Steering Group by Ecologistas en Acción



Within five years, the coalition grew to 193 member groups in 24 EU member states and beyond. The coalition included fishermen’s organisations, leading marine scientists, development agencies, environmental non-governmental organisations, aquaria, consumer and development organisations, restaurants and groups who shared an interest in sustainable fisheries.


Thanks to them, OCEAN2012 was able to muster considerable support for a fundamental CFP reform. In May 2013, with a groundswell of public support, European legislators took a huge step toward ending overfishing by agreeing that most European Union fish stocks would be fished sustainably by 2015 and all stocks by 2020. That December, the European Parliament adopted the agreement,with it coming into force on January 1st 2014.


On January 28th 2014, a political deal was reached between the European Parliament, the European Commission and the Greek EU Presidency, on behalf of the European Council, on the European Maritime and Fisheries Fund, EMFF, the EU fisheries subsidies regime designed to support implementation of the CFP. The EMFF agreement included allocating greater funding for improved data collection, control, and enforcement.


After several years of concerted campaigning to achieve its goals, OCEAN2012 has wound up its work. However, the battle against overfishing is far from over. Now the CFP has been reformed, it must be implemented effectively.


To find the 193 organisations that made up OCEAN2012 and continue to advocate for sustainable fisheries, go to Members.


To find out more about The Pew Charitable Trusts’ new campaign on CFP implementation in the waters of northwestern Europe, click here.